Story Time with DeAnn Wiley, author of Homegrown

Friday, February 23, 2024 - 11:00am to 12:00pm

Join local author DeAnn Wiley for a special Friday story time at Sidetrack! DeAnn will be reading from her debut children's book, Homegrown.

RSVPs are encouraged, but not required. 

About Homegrown

A touching and stunningly illustrated ode to the homes—and loved ones—that raise us, perfect for fans of Hair Love and Love Is.

While her mother puts the finishing touches on her twists, a young Black girl asks what it means to be homegrown. Touring heartening memories and rooms throughout the house warmed by family, Mama and Granny explain that home isn't just a place but rather a reflection of people who support and love one another.

With lush and nostalgic illustrations reminiscent of Oge Mora and Julie Flett, Homegrown is a stunning debut picture book that reminds us to lift up the places—and people—we call home.

About DeAnn Wiley

DeAnn Wiley is a self-taught illustrator and licensed mental health professional born and raised in Detroit. She is an advocate for social justice as she sits at the intersection of many identities: Black, Woman, Queer, & (Dis)Abled, and stands in solidarity with those communities that she is not a member of. When she's not painting, she's learning, growing, and healing, with each phase of her journey depicted in her art.
deelasheeartistry.com

 

Event address: 
325 S. Washington
Royal Oak, MI 48067-3822
Books: 
Homegrown By DeAnn Wiley, DeAnn Wiley (Illustrator) Cover Image
By DeAnn Wiley, DeAnn Wiley (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250876379
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - January 9th, 2024